Since 1998, the Distinguished Visiting Scholars program has allowed schools and departments to bring diverse scholars from a wide range of fields to the Washington University campus. Each of these scholars shared work and insights with the WashU community.

Past Visiting Scholars sorted by discipline

African and African-American Studies

2022: Rhoda Reddock, The University of West Indies

2014: Tommie Shelby, Harvard University

2013: Khalil Muhammad, New York Public Library: Shomberg Center

2005: Waldo Emerson Martin, Jr., University of California Berkeley

2000: Elizabeth Higginbotham, University of Delaware

1999: Kenneth Manning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Anthropology/American Culture Studies

2019: Frank Guridy, Columbia University

2000: Craig Howe, Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies

2023: Malinda Maynor Lowery, Emory University


2018: Morehshin Allahyari, Artist, Activist, Educator, and Curator

2018: Sophia Al-Maria, Artist

2013: Coco Fusco, Interdisciplinary Artist and Writer

2001: Laylah Ali, Contemporary Visual Artist

Art History and Archaeology

2012: Salah Hassan, Cornell University


2008: David Thomas, Harvard University

Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity & Equity

2022: Safiya U. Noble, UCLA


2002: Shelly Haley, Hamilton College

Comparative Literature

2010: Brent Hayes Edwards, Columbia University


2016: Dr. Ebony McGee, Vanderbilt University


2010: Andrew Alleyne, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign

Earth and Planetary Sciences

2017: Lisa White, University of California


2008: Edward P. Jones, George Washington University

1999: Ann DuCille, Wesleyan University


2012: Vincent Brown, Harvard University

2009: Daryl Michael Scott, Howard University

2007: Robin D.G. Kelley, University of California Los Angeles


2018: Victor LaValle, Columbia University


2012: Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar, California Supreme Court Justice

2011: Bryan Stevenson, NYU School of Law

2010: Devon Carbado, University of California Los Angeles

2008 and 2000: Charles Olgetree Jr., Harvard Law School

2008: Terry Smith, DePaul University College of Law

2007: Adrienne Davis, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2007: Robert Williams, University of Arizona School of Law

2006: James Anaya, University of Colorado Boulder

2006: Sheryll Cashin, Georgetown University Law Center

2005: Randall Kennedy, Harvard Law School

2003: Angela Harris, University of California Davis School of Law

Performing Arts

2020: Vanessa German, Visual and Performance Artist

2016 and 2011: Jock Soto, Ballet Dancer

2015: Thomas DeFrantz, Duke University

2014: André de Quadros, Boston University

2009: Rulan Tangen, Arizona State University

2007: Harry Elam, Stanford University

2004: Gus Solomons Jr., New York University

2001: Donald McKayle, University of California Irvine


2005: Kenneth A. Taylor, Stanford University

2001: Ronald R. Sundstrom, University of San Francisco

Political Science

2011: Eric McDaniel, University of Texas at Austin

2011: Tasha Philpot, University of Texas at Austin


2003: David Williams, Harvard University

1999: Jennifer Manly, Columbia University Medical Center

Romance Languages and Literatures

2019: Lázaro Lima, Univeristy of Richmond

2016: Ramon Saldívar, Stanford University

2016: Alejandro de la Fuente, Harvard University

2012: Mark Sanders, University of Notre Dame

2004: Mabel Moraña, Washington University in St. Louis

2000: Sandra Cisneros, Novelist, Poet, Essayist

2000: Cristina Garcia, Journalist and Novelist

Social Work

2016: Noorie Kelsey Brantmeier, James Madison University

2006: Duane Champagne, University of California Los Angeles

2003: Oscar A. Barbarin III, University of Michigan

2003: Jewelle Taylor Gibbs, University of California, Berkeley

2003: Robert J. Taylor, University of Michigan School of Social Work

2002: Melvin L. Oliver, Pitzer College

2001: Ruth McRoy, Boston College

1999: King Davis, University of Texas at Austin

1999: Fernando Torres-Gil, University of California Los Angeles

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

2010: Beverly Guy-Sheftall, University of Michigan